Ten Mile River Scout Museum Improvements - 2008
The Ten Mile River Scout
Museum recently completed the biggest changes in its design and
organization since the opening of the Museum Annex in 2002:
1. Acquired three new showcases and reused an existing showcase.
The four showcases now contain exhibits on:
2. Rearranged the showcases so that the full-vision
metal & glass showcases are all in Room 1 and the oak showcases are
all in Room 2.
- T.M.R. post cards and paper.
- Religion at T.M.R.
- The T.M.R. Civilian Conservation Corps Camp.
- Junior Leader Training at T.M.R.
3. Moved the Office from Room 2 into the Extension.
4. Created a Library in the old Office room.
5. Moved the board room table to the center of Room 2. The table
is now being used for temporary displays.
6. Created a 50 ft. "velcro wall" in Room 2.
Here are some 2008 Museum photos:
We also expanded outdoor activities in the Museum's picnic area.
Asst. Curator Jake Pontillo tripled the size of his very popular
knot/lashing/splicing demonstration area from last summer and even
added a monkey bridge.
The feature exhibit this summer is on T.M.R. Aerial Photography from
1959-2006. It is called "Changing T.M.R." and shows how 16 T.M.R.
camps changed over the years through an exhibit of detailed aerial
photographs. Individual buildings and structures are visible and
Last Updated: July
Copyright © 2008 TMR Scout Museum